Robustness of OpenRAMAN to transport

Everything that concerns the open-source Raman spectrometer
Lincoln20XX

Robustness of OpenRAMAN to transport

Post by Lincoln20XX »

Greetings from Canada!

I was speaking with a friend about OpenRAMAN as a possible technology to employ in a mobile testing service.

I'm aware that this system was not necessarily designed with this use case in mind.

I'm a mechanical engineer by education and trade, so I do have some fundamental knowledge of some of the parts that go into this type of system, but I don't have any way of assessing how it could be affected by regular transport or movement.

My baseline assumption is that any device that utilizes high-precision optics is not going to be happy with being moved around from place to place on a regular basis, but I don't know if this is something that could be accounted for in some relatively simple manner.

The build instructions make me think that it might not be that much of a problem so long as the system is not unreasonably abused, but I've had such assumptions bite me before, so I figured it would be best to ask those much more knowledgeable than I.

I'd be more than happy to do some reading and educate myself further if anyone would be willing to point me toward some specific resources on the topic.

Thanks!
andy

Re: Robustness of OpenRAMAN to transport

Post by andy »

I can speak to this as I've shipped some builds

There's a few issues:
  • The camera is held on by a single bracket so it "floats". It stays in place but I think it might slightly slide if the travel was rough
  • The kinematic alignment tools stay in position pretty well and are stiff, but they don't lock in place.
  • I remove the laser, otherwise that might slide a bit
  • Only the spectrometer part has a cover, rest does not so dust could be an issue if you don't cover it well